Department of Political Science & Public Administration

    Situated in college’s backside corner, yet always stands in the forefront of intellectual activity at St.John’s, the Department of Political Science and Public Administration has a rich,vibrant and varied history. Political Science has been one of the best and prestigious departments of St.John’s  College ever since its inception in 1964. During the formative years, the department had offered pre-degree courses and a BA programme in Political Science commenced in 1967. The year 1999 offered a landmark,  thanks to the introduction of a two year Masters programme in Public Administration – the first of its kind in the state – under Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Kerala. The Department has produced several university ranks alongside other academic accomplishments including international/national seminars and research publications. In January 2016, the department hosted a two day international seminar on Rising India and the World Order in the 21st Century: a rare enough, or even unique, event in which world-class diplomats, well-known scholars, and renowned academicians assembled at a rural college and pondered over emerging India’s multifarious role in the contemporary global settings!

   Our community of St.John’s alumni is professionally diverse, geographically dispersed, and  many of them have notable accomplishments. From reputed scholars to veteran politicians to notable lawyers, a number of department alumni have accomplished outstanding achievements in their field. Hundreds of our former students work in schools, colleges and at various government offices. The Department is celebrating its golden jubilee with activities spanning over one year (2017-18), and the jubilee celebrations were inaugurated by Adv.K.Raju, the honourable Minister for Forests and Animal Husbandry, one of our most distinguished alumni.

   Today’s department has a strong emphasis on developing an empirical research orientation, together with high pedagogical priority to the key concepts and theoretical frameworks of Political Science and Public Administration. Our students, particularly those pursuing the MA degree, are being trained for scientifically exploring political and administrative issues in empirical contexts. Besides providing individual research supervision, the department offers students the opportunity to discuss their research with scholars of repute. We have already invited scholars who were associated with the Tata Institute of Social Sciences, London School of Economics and Political Science,and the University of Liverpool.

   Our students have an inherent advantage in seeking government jobs, as they engage with two disciplines – Political Science and Public Administration – that are crucial in the preparation of state and national level competitive exams. The department extends its expertise and resources to backup all the career guidance initiatives implemented at the college. Presently, Dr.(Capt.) Benny Thomas  is the head of the department. The other faculty members include Ms. Ronie Thomas, Dr. Sajan Thomas, Ms.Prayaga M.A, Mr.Sajoy, and Ms. Nithya Murali.

B.A Political Science

Duration 3 Years | 6 Semesters

M.A Public Administration

Duration 2 Years | 4 Semesters