Department of Chemistry

   Department of Chemistry at St. Johns college was established in 1967 and started functioning as an independent department from 1982. Since 1982 the department offers a full-time program of graduate study leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science (B. Sc) in general chemistry with Physics and mathematics as supplementary science subjects. Thus the department has a long tradition over nearly 35 years in imparting Chemistry education to the rural backward area of Southern-skirts of Kerala. The first batch successfully completed the B. Sc degree programme with chemistry as major subject in 1985. The department also extends its services to other degree courses (B. Sc Botany and B. Sc Zoology) of this college that include chemistry subject as subsidiary part of the curriculum. The department has fetched three rank holders in the UG programme in chemistry before the implementation of grading pattern in the State. The glorious achievements and successful run of the department are entrenched on its dedicated faculty members. The first members of teachers were Mr. Chacko Adhikaram, Mr. A. A. George, Rev. Sr. Peronilla, Mr. T. D. Kurian and Miss. KunjuKunjamma Joseph (retired on 31/03/1995). Prof. C. G. Geevarghese, Dr. John Koshi, Prof. Varghese Zakharia, Mr. O. George (retired on 31/5/2006), Dr. George T. john (retired on 31/3/2011), Dr. Mathew Cherian, Mr. Peter T. John (retired on 31/5/2013) and Dr. George Lukose (Currently working at Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram) were the successive Heads of the department. Mr. Johnson Varghese, Dr. James T. Joseph and Dr. R. Selwin Joseyphus (Currently working at Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram) were previous faculties of this department. Presently the Department is functioned with 8 faculty members and 2 lab assistants. The faculty members are Dr. Thomas Mathew (Assistant Professor), Mrs. Simi Saju (Assistant Professor), Dr. Jinu M John (Assistant Professor), Dr. Arun P. S (Assistant Professor), Dr. Rani Rajan (Assistant Professor on contract), Mrs. Bincy Samuel (Assistant Professor on contract), Ms. Resmi (Assistant Professor on contract) and Ms. Sajimol (Assistant Professor on contract). The lab assistants of our department are Mr. Kunjumon T and Mrs. Sreeja.

   Department of Chemistry at St. Johns college plays a vital role in molding professionals and several of our alumni pursue higher studies and subsequently hold distinguished positions in diverse sectors at national and international level. Existing only as a teaching department in its earlier days, it has become a teaching-cum-research department from 2011 onwards. By adding the post-graduate course (M. Sc) in general chemistry in 2013, the Department of Chemistry has grown into a major centre for teaching. The faculty members of this department are experienced researchers in thrust areas like Material Science, Renewable Energy, Environmental Chemistry, Heterogeneous Catalysis, Nanotechnology, Green Chemistry, Supramolecular Chemistry etc through collaboration with other universities and institutes. The department was successful in running a major research project, funded by CSIR (Principal Investigator: Dr. R. Selwin Joseyphus). Not drifting away from the original mandate of providing undergraduate chemistry education, the department is also in the process of planning and applying various funded projects to initiate and establish research activities in various areas of Chemical Sciences to augment the post-graduate research project studies as well as to build this department as a centre for research. The department has organized several major and minor events such as UGC sponsored National Symposium in Chemistry, a series of lectures that are relevant to graduate and post-graduate study and interdisciplinary research interest, mega exhibition etc. The faculty members of the dept. have published more than 75 research papers in reputed research journals, 2 book chapters and 2 patents. They have also presented many research papers in national and international conferences. Placement of students of this department in industries, Universities/Colleges/Institutes, Ph.D admission abroad and reputed national institutions etc. are other feathers in its credit. Striving hard in its endeavor, the department plans to diversity and expand its activities in the years to come.

B.Sc Chemistry

Duration 3 Years | 6 Semesters

M.Sc Chemistry

Duration 2 Years | 4 Semesters

Departmental Projects

Title of the Project

Principal Investigator

Total Amount Sanctioned

Funding Agency


Studies on biomedical applications of Schiff base metal complexes and their antitumor activities

Dr. R. Selwin Joseyphus

Rs. 11,28,000/-



Synthesis of Porous Ferrihydrite-based Nanocomposite Materials of 2-Line Ferrihydrite phase with Tailored Pore Size as Heterogeneous Catalyst Material for Green Chemical Organic Transformation

Dr. Thomas Mathew

Rs. 4,90,000/-




Seminars/Conferences/Workshops organized

Sl. No.


Funding agency




National Seminar on Recent Trends in Chemical Sciences


Rs. 1,07,000.00

23-24 November, 2014


National Workshop on Nanotechnology and its Biomedical Applications


Rs. 10,000.00

4th November, 2011


National Seminar on Advances in the Frontier Areas of Chemical Sciences”, , St. John’s College. Anchal.


Rs. 1,25,000.00

9 – 10 November, 2016


University of Kerala Rank Holders





1997 – 2000



2003 – 2006